Tractor Forum banner
1 - 20 of 42 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello.. Im a newbie but I need help desperately.
I am working on this TYM tractor LM36 with yanmar engine in it that has this symbol on the dash. Please tell me what this means.. thx!

·
Super Moderator
10,013 Posts
I believe that it may be a diesel particulate filter (DPF) warning symbol. May have to check the manual to see what the different variations are. If it's blinking, for instance, it might be indicating that the system is regenerating.
Just my best guess!

·
Registered
2,422 Posts
Hello luckie8,

I'm not familiar with DPF systems, or regerating systems, too newfangled for me!

But on my old Ford tractor I have a similar symbol which means that my air filter is plugging up, and I am pulling too much vacuum on the air intake system. There is a vacuum sensor on the intake system to warn me of this condition.

I think an operators manual would explain the meaning of this symbol. Search the internet or ebay for an operators manual for your tractor.

·
Registered
2,422 Posts
See page 19 of Winston's operations manual. The symbol on your original post does not match any of these symbols.

·
Super Moderator
10,013 Posts
Thx for the help guys..
I was under the impression that oil pressure symbol is an engine outline with an oil/liquid drop in the middle. Pls advise, thx
After looking a little harder, I think the symbol is an engine warning indicator. This light could be on in conjunction with other indicators to direct you to what a potential problem could be.
Is the light blinking, and if so, with other indicators on? Is it on when you turn the key on, but goes out once the tractor is running?
I do believe that the engine symbol with the drop in the center is oil pressure.

·
Registered
399 Posts
What kind of indicator is on the tractor for oil pressure? Is there another light or gauge? If so then probably not oil pressure, if not, probably oil pressure.

·
Registered
5 Posts