Tractor Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to the lawn tractor scene! We're buying a farmsite (formally a city boy) and need to mow and blow. The previous owner has a 10 yr old Troybuilt (20 hp kohler) tractor with a 46" Troybuilt snowblower attachment and mower deck(not sure of width) that he wants to sell me. My question is this a good, reliable unit? I didn't even know Troybuilt made lawn tractors with mowers and snowblowers. I have no idea what its worth and was wondering if any of the 'ones in the know' could help me out. He says its had normal use. I really like this forum! For a novice I'm starting to learn. Thanks much.

·
Premium Member
978 Posts
Welcome, fishenboie, Thanks for joining, the troybilt you speakl of all depends on the condition and what the price is for it. I cannot imagine more then 600 dollars for a ten year old tractor with a snowblower.

·
Registered
2,687 Posts
Welcome fishenboie,
Are you sure it's 10yrs old? May not sound like an important question but in this case it could mean a world of difference. Check the labels on the machine and see if it is a troybilt/gardenway machine. The troybilt tractors were Bolens (old REAL bolens technology) designs. When troybilt and gardenway got together they sold bolens tractors under the bolens name and continued with the troybilt tillers after a short run the tractors were painted red and sold as troybilts. So if this was made before the MTD takeover it is a much different and better machine than what you see today at Lowes.