Tractor Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
497 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am considering going to school to change my occupation. Currently I am in the telecommunications and technologies field. This field has been very good to me and my family but is not "satisfying" if you can relate.

I would love, always have, to practice law. I just never wanted to commit to school. I am considering starting college slowly, 1 step (class) at a time. I know it will take a while to get through school that way but I am unsure if I am capable of making the commitment.

Any thoughts? I have checked several schools that offer off campus (read online) classes. I have a great deal of time to burn during the day, so that would be excellent. Would there be any down side to achieving an A.A. or B.A. degree from one of these institutions granted them being accredited?

Any information would be helpful.

·
Premium Member
4,123 Posts
I'm not a lawyer, but had to use a few in recent years and discovered that lawyers specialize like doctors. There are criminal lawyers, civil lawyers, those that practice family law (divorce and custody cases), immigration law, corporate law, real estate law, injury law, etc. If you know now which interests you, you might be able to save class time. I'd also check into what kind of credit you can get for any college classes you took back in the day. I'd also check into CLEP testing in your area. The CLEP test is a college level equavalency test that will allow you to take the test and if you pass, skip that class (and it's time and financial requirements) and go to the next one. I'd be VERY careful about on-line colleges as several have been exposed as nothing more than diploma mills that will give you a degree worth nothing and keep your money. With law being the complex subject it is, I'd think you would get a better result by interacting with fellow students in a classroom environment.

Here is a link to the CLEP test folks: