Tractor Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

· Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello.
I'm a total novice to the world of tractors. Going to be in need of one in the next year, maybe sooner. We work down in Mozambique Africa and are helping start a farming operation for business, local education and employment. A friend owns a Fiat, and he is not a tractor guy either. I think it is a Fiat 1000 Super or other 1000 model (it's not printed on engine cover). He would like to sell, and maybe I would buy it. He came by it when he was given a section of land with all its buildings and equipment. The tractor has been made operational and he rents it to a guy who helps local farmers when they need a tractor. Seems to run well. I have a local guy who can give me a hand in assessing, but I don't want to drag him around to each and every tractor that might be an option.

Ok. So I'm interested in the reputation of the Fiat tractors and particularly this model. I'll add a pic to see if anyone can help identify. I have looked at a lot of images from Google search to identify. I'm also interested in what brands are considered to be high quality. I know that people think oft-times what they own is the best. And, of course, what you have is what you have, you make it work. So I'm looking to know which brands are durable and reliable. Are there any that have an excellent reputation? I know there a number of questions that arise, but I don't know to how address the characteristics of the land we must prepare and the crops we are going to grow to start deciding what size/class tractor to buy. So I'm beginning from scratch. Questions welcome to help me clarify.

Ready to start. But not sure which area of the forum to get going in. Thanks for thoughts, questions, etc...

Peace,
David

Tire Wheel Sky Vehicle Tractor

1,766 Posts
The Fiat tractor is in my opinion, as reliable as anything I've worked on. Many tractor makers in business at that time are dead and gone. Fiat lives on.