Tractor Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Has anyone ever done this? I purchased a toro 223D from a newly widowed woman. Her husband had swapped the Kubota diesel for a 3 cylinder gas engine out of a geo metro. The engine had a throttle body which he removed and retro fit with a carburetor. The thing I can’t figure out is the ignition. It looks like he was going to use an old coil from another tractor based on the box of parts she said we’re his ‘mower pieces.’ I’m a self taught lousy mechanic and the electrical stuff is where I really fall flat lol. Anyone got any ideas on how this could be done?

·
Premium Member
2,617 Posts
Hood Vehicle Motor vehicle Car Automotive exterior

Is this what the engine looks like?, I can see it has coil ignition and a dissy, you will need to mount the coil in a suitable position and basically run a hot wire from the run position on the ignition switch to the positive connection on the coil and run another wire from the negative pole on the coil to the distributor, you will need to find out if the voltage is 12 volts before applying voltage to the coil, these ECU controlled engines had a lot of 5 volts running around the engine bay, I have a Daewoo Lanos that I could check in the morning for voltage at the distributor, if all is well, basically it should work, the starter will require a hot wire from the ignition switch,(the original hot wire) and not sure about the alternator, would need to know how many wires this has, and again, a lot of alternators had the regulation controlled by the ECU as well, so this could be the case of this one too, hopefully this wont be a problem for you.