Tractor Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Premium Member
3,786 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Can someone recommend a good sandblaster for general shop use? Also, can you explain the type of sand, the equipment, the process and the costs involved? I am a novice when it comes to owning this equipment (or potentially owning)

Thanks so much.

Andy

·
Registered
1,569 Posts
Andy,

I just finished sandblasting everything except the engine and
transmission on that ugly Bolens 1250 with FEL I bought on
e-bay. I used the sandblaster Northern Tool lists at $129.99
their item # 155341. Wait for it to go on sale, I paid $89.99.

I used size “00” sand ($7.00 / 100lb bag). I just told the guy
who sells the sand that I was cleaning paint off metal parts and
he told me which type sand to use. As far as I’m concerned this
is a great way to clean up old, painted parts. It’s fast but it’s
not fun. It’s loud and you get impregnated with an extremely
fine grit. Do it while it’s still cool outside. The first time I
sandblasted was last August and it was brutal under the sand
blasting hood.

But the finish product is very clean and has a mild texture that
makes a great bonding surface. After primer and paint, the
texture is gone and you wind up with a smooth high gloss finish.

·
Premium Member
1,394 Posts
I have a el cheapo sand blaster like the plastic ones Sears sells, as well as a pressure type that Horrible Fright sells and both work equally well. They do require a good supply of air for them to work s well as a good supply of sand. While regular sand may work in it, you will not get as good of cutting action with regular old sand as you will with an abrasive grit or special sand for sand blasting. You will go thorugh a heap of sand and air in a short order, so if you place a tarp around three sides and the bottom you cn easily reclaim sand by scooping it up and running it through a screen to get the junk out of it, and it will remain dry.