Tractor Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Premium Member
4,117 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just came from the funeral of one of the best friends I ever had. I've known him 25 of my 48 years. We were drinking buddys back in the day, chased after the same bar maids, got sober together, and he became part of my family. My brother ended up working for him as did my niece later on. He was a simple guy with little formal education and a house painter by trade, but he wasn't stupid. He could talk knowledgeably on almost any subject, and could always tell a great story. We laughed a lot together, he was part of our family holidays, because his own family disowned him back when he was still drinking, and we often brought John along on vacations, and he was always invited to any party we had. A very special guy. He was painting a commercial job and fell off the scaffold and was seriously injured. He was never able to recover enough for the life saving surgury he needed and passed away last Sunday. He was the kind of guy you could call at 3:00 in the morning for bail money and he would come. He was the kind of guy that when it was his turn to need help, you were glad to give it. I hope some of you will add your prayers to mine that he be forgiven his sins and let into heaven. I never knew anyone that worked as hard to fix his mistakes of his early life as he did. I can only hope to be half the guy he was in that area. Thanks all.

·
Registered
131 Posts
Bontai Joe,

I will keep your friend, family and you in my prayers. It's hard to find a good friend in life, much less lose him.

·
EX Super Mod
5,317 Posts
:ditto: Will keep him and your family in our prayers.

·
Registered
1,372 Posts
That is why it is called salvation and grace! You can make up for your mistakes, and be forgiven. Not by us but by the big guy upstairs, he knows what is in your heart. Best wishes to you and your family for the loss!!

·
Registered
8,567 Posts