Tractor Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Premium Member
396 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am buying a plasma cutter to cut 9 guage expanded metal for a large project. I had planned on buying a Miller but the guy at the local welding shop talked me into a Thermal Dynamics Drag Gun. Anyone ever used one of these?

·
Premium Member
3,693 Posts
Well, I have never used one before, but all I know is I REALY want to get one. A guy can NEVER have enough tools.

·
Premium Member
1,592 Posts
Next on the list

Originally posted by bear
we have a miller and like it what was his reasoning against it
Next on the list and not too far away. Just don't mention "plasma Cutter" to my wife if you see her. I would also like to know by not the "Miller".
:ditto:

·
Premium Member
396 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I ened up buying a Thermo Dynamics Plasma cutter-38. This is one of the swetest tools I have ever used. It cuts thru 9 guage like butter. It is rated to cut up to 1/2 mild steel.
I have a Millermatic mig welder that has worked well over the past 4 years. The salesman at the welding shop said Themo Dynamics is the best of the best in plasma cutting technology (they invented it). The TD DraGun that I origionally considered was too small and under powered for my needs.
I have been using the TD 38 for a week now and am very happy with it.

·
Premium Member
1,364 Posts
Years ago in college industrial arts we had two large arc welders connected in parallel combined with compressed air to cut heavy steel. I believe it was called carbon arc gouging? It was a lot of fun and created massive amounts of fire and smoke. Are the plasma cutters something similar but more refined?
Just curious,

Mark

·
Premium Member
3,693 Posts
Originally posted by johnray13
I ened up buying a Thermo Dynamics Plasma cutter-38. This is one of the swetest tools I have ever used. It cuts thru 9 guage like butter. It is rated to cut up to 1/2 mild steel.