1. When diagnosing an issue, or showing off your tractor or implement, it's important to add images so we all know what you're talking about. Especially when it comes to issues and repairs it's important to include as many images as possible to help our members diagnose your issue. To upload images, use the Upload a FIle button found towards the bottom right of the post response box or a new thread, If you ever have questions please feel free to contact me, My username is Austin.
    Dismiss Notice

Featured Newbie with 340

Discussion in 'Ford / New Holland' started by Mark henderson, Oct 22, 2017.

1. Mark henderson

Mark henderson New Member

Oct 21, 2017
    i inheareted property that included a Ford 340 tractor. It starts and runs but the power steering is intermittent. I’m new to tractors, how do I check power steering fluid? Also, I don’t find a hydraulic reservoir, how do I check hyd. Fluid? Thanks in advance for helping a rookie.

2. Ultradog

Ultradog Member

Feb 27, 2005
    First of all get an owner/operators manual for your tractor.
    Originals and reprints can usually be found on ebay. It will ve chock full of important info you need.
    The ps pump is the front left corner of the engine. Left/right is Always when you are sitting in the seat. Open the cap and fill till it almost spills over. If that doesnt help my next step would be to change the filter.
    Filter is in the reservoir of the pump. You have to pull the pump then pull the cover off the pump to change it. Order one from tour local CNH dealer.
    You would be wise to also buy a repair manual for your tractor. The I&T FO-41 will cover about 95% of your tractor. They are cheap - $30 and darned well worth the money. Those 3 cylinder Ford tractors are outstanding, totally bullet proof machines.

Last edited: Oct 22, 2017

3. Graysonr

Graysonr Registered User Supporting Member

Mar 31, 2017