Tractor Forum banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Premium Member
3,693 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well, just got my lawn put in yesterday, and this is the first time I have had to care for such a large aera of new lawn. Other then keeping the seed moist untill it starts growing, anything else I should do, not do? How long do I wait for the first cut? Any ferts? This all cost a pretty penny, and I would hate to see it just die. Thanks for any help.

Attachments

·
Premium Member
1,039 Posts
Im no expert and this would be my first year with a "nice lawn"..

It will be many weeks before you have growth, hopefully a starter fert was dropped along with the seed....its a waiting game
for now until its starts growing in....plenty of water until then.

Weed control or premergent would be next, along with grub control to kill next years eggs for grubs(merrit), maybe lime to correct PH in some areas?

I follow Lesco's steps to a tee...its the only program that has truely worked for me, plus they sell in bulk (50 lb bags)
maybe they have a location near you - they give free advice as well

www.lesco.com

Duc

·
Registered
4,173 Posts
looiks good paul, i cant make it out form the pics.. whats the seed covered with it looks green tinted...

is that a hydroseed or seed mix? were you plannig to put hay or straw on top to keep it moist?

as duc mentioned. not fert on new seed for 6 weeks (i think) unless its starter fert.

did you lime the soil? i beleive you can lime and seed at the same time...

looks good.. nice and level

·
Tractor Lover
4,461 Posts
Looks nice Paul. It appears to be hydroseed, if that's the case just keep it moist until you have some growth. Wait as long as possible before you cut it as your just establishing roots and the tires from the mower will take them out pretty quick. Remember it'll be pretty thin so height won't be an issue with first cut.