Tractor Forum banner
1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,039 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everybody,

I wanted to ask for advice and any tips before I start a project this weekend that involves planting 6-7 ft Arborvitaes, a small berm etc...
I have never done this before and thankfully its a smaller requirement of a 50 ft stretch that needs to be planted...
I dont have the actual formula in front of me to calculate actual
yards of dirt needed, but it comes in around 17 yrds if the berm height is approx 24" and 3ft wide and 50 ft long. This 17 yrds takes into account the slopping to the sides effect of the berm otherwise is 22 yrds...
I figure the 6-7 footers will be planted 3 ft apart measured between base of tree. 16 to 17 Arborvitaes in all I guess should cover it...I figure placing approx 1 ft screened topsoil first, plant the trees 3ft apart, place another 1ft of topsoil above and around tree, use fabric cloth for weeds prevention then top off with mulch ( unsure how much actually I need)...They will have plenty of water..
This may sound over simplified and if I'm missing something please point it out or if my math is incorrect....If this goes well my confidence will be boosted for larger projects exactly like this but 130 ft...

Thanks in advance..

Duc

·
Tractor Lover
4,461 Posts
I dunno Duc...the way I figure it you would need 11.11 yards of material...

H x W x L..... 2'H x 3'W = 6'SF 6'sf x 50'L=300CF...27 CF PER YARD....300/27=11.11CY.

·
Registered
8,567 Posts
Sounds to me like you have pretty much thought everything out well. Is drainage for rain water run off going to be a consideration?

·
Tractor Lover
4,461 Posts
I'm sure you have already gotten info for this project, but I'd like to add a little more....