Tractor Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've always wanted an old tractor and old farm house, got the 90yr old house about 4yr ago & the 58yr old tractor 4mo back.

Old ugly yellow junky 1962 ford 4000 industrial 4cyl gas burning thing with a Davis loader for about $2000 that needed work but started and ran.

I've messed with it for 4 months, new plugs, wires, distributer, water pump, radiator, thermostat, oil and filter, ignition, wiring, and even gave it a rattle can job to make it look better than faded rusted yellow (definitely not a restoration) it kinda needed most of that but others were as preventative maintenance.

Get her all back together and let it run for a while to be sure all is good....it starts whistling as if to overheat and chocolate milk or coffee begins to pour from a hole in the block. I'm no mechanic at all and this is my first attempt at owning a tractor.....but that isn't right.

When I bought it I drove it once around his driveway and then loaded it, once home I noticed there was NO water, once topped off she leaked at the pump and sprayed at the radiator (hence the change) while doing the oil change I noticed dirty thick oil but only about a qt drained out, 6qt of clean went back in.

Now with the milk, I notice low or no water in the radiator but the oil still looks great. Hopeful its a freeze plug and not a head gasket.
Automotive tire Motor vehicle Automotive exterior Tire Automotive exhaust

·
Registered
3 Posts