Tractor Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello Tractor Forum,

I am new to tractoring and have been lurking around this site for a short period of time. There is a wealth of knowledge here and you seem like friendly folks, so I decided to try and squeeze some information out of the forum.

Knowing that a new tractor is out of the question for me at this time, I have been looking to buy a used tractor. I have no preconceived notions about what to buy and only limited knowledge of what used machines are worth or cost. I have, however, been searching other sites and "trader" sites/papers to increase my knowledge base to make an informed decision.

The Massey and Ford tractors are the most abundant in my area for probably the same reasons they are abundant everywhere else. There were simply a lot of them made... I am not locked into buying locally and I am willing to travel to purchase. The North Carolina/South Carolina/Ohio markets seem abundant with used tractors.

The uses I envision for this tractor are the rough cutting of 10-12 acres every couple of weeks (the land is already cleared of brush as it has been cut twice a year in the past for less than stellar hay). I simply want to cut it more often and cut it on my schedule. The American way.... I also plan to tend my 1000 foot gravel driveway, plant some food plots for deer hunting, plow/tiller my garden, move snow and generally enjoy the tractoring experience.

I have, at least for the near future, ruled out cutting "the yard" with a tractor. I would not be opposed to "a second used tractor" as long as the wife doesn't buck... (think Smith 8N tractor page lawn mower) until then I plan on purchasing a new Cub or John Deere for that 3 acre chore.