Tractor Forum banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys,
I have a 2016 Mahindra 1526 manual transmission that is stuck in gear. Brief rundown; my son jumped on it to move it. I had left it parked in the Low range setting when I last used it. He, not being very familiar with the hi/low range option, (I found out after grilling him. I was running a chainsaw in the pasture) instead of asking what’s up with it moving so slow, he decided to start trying to jam it in different gears in an attempt to increase speed. Now, I have a $20k tractor that appears to be stuck in 4th gear. BUT, the shifter arm is actually in the neutral position between 1st & 2nd gear. The hi/low works fine of course, the shifter just won’t budge from that position. I’m hoping it’s just a linkage problem, but I’m fearing the worst. I was a mechanic for 15 years prior to losing most of my eyesight, so I’m inclined to try and fix it myself with a little time if it’s a linkage issues. Otherwise, if it’s internal, I’ll have to send it to the sho. Anyone know where I should start looking? Can’t see it very well, but the linkages feel mildly complicated and I don’t know which linkage does what. I’ll try and post pics. Any hel would be appreciated.

Attachments

·
928 Posts
I doubt your problem is very serious. I ran into this very problem on a small Mahindra (no sure of the exact model) just a few weeks ago. All it required was to reach under the panel below the shifter and move the rod for third/fourth gears back to neutral. The shifter then falls back into place and you're off and running again. Thirty second fix.

·
Premium Member
2,675 Posts