Tractor Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a newbie to this forum and could use some expert advice if it's out there..

I bought a 4850 last year and during spring till I started to lose coolant out the overflow. Tractor had no starting issues or power loss. Tore it down this winter turns out it had 5 bad injectors, most of the intake valves were leaking and had a blown head gasket. Had all the injectors rebuilt , sent the head to be milled and rekitted with valves and new head gasket. Put it all back together and fired it up.
This is where it goes funny. The tractor will start up but will take forever to clean out. It chokes so long on startup and then when it starts to clean out it sounds like the pump is gonna run away and then comes back down and runs absolutely perfect. Slow idles just fine , fast idles just fine and is super responsive.The pump was never taken off the tractor only removed the head to send it out to be reworked. I haven't had a chance to get it under a load to see how she acts since Spring time in Northern Ohio is pretty wet yet, but I drove it back to the farm from our shop which is a 7 mile ride and the tractor ran perfect.
I would love some ideas on what the problem could be.
Thanks for helping

·
Premium Member
12,412 Posts
Welcome to the forum JD! As it turns out, we have an in house pump whisperer that'll be able to sort this out for you!

·
1,007 Posts
Most John Deere six cylinder tractors of that era used a Bosch inline injection pump. Pretty much all of them start that way. No matter where you set the throttle, when they start it's with a lot of smoke, clatter, and high revs then they settle down to wherever the throttle is set. Usually all happens within just afew seconds. It has to do with overfueling/cold start mechanisms within the pump. That is normal for them. If yours takes much longer then there may be some issues with something in the pump.

·
Registered
10 Posts