Tractor Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My dad left an old John Deere 301 when he passed. I used it a couple times to spread some gravel and should have sold it while it was running as now it is dead and won't start.

I thought maybe it had sat too long so I drained the diesel, changed the oil, changed the fuel filter, etc. Still no go.

I have fuel flowing well to the injector pump but nothing coming out past the pump. I've tried bleeding it by opening up the overflow line but nothing comes out there either.

I'm a decent mechanic when i know what the problem is but have messed with an injector pump before. Would love help from someone who knows more than me. FYI my father had replaced the pump at some point as it is very green and the tractor has been painted yellow on top of the original yellow.

Thanks in advance

·
Registered
150 Posts
Welcome to TF
My guess is metering valve in inj pump is stuck. IIRC 301 has fuel control solenoid in inj pump. If that is correct can you hear solenoid make a click sound when key switch is turned to on position?

·
Premium Member
1,396 Posts
My search shows it’s a Stanadyne pump.??
Remove ALL the fittings off the top cover and try to start it..
U might have to open a couple of lines AT THE INJECTORS to bleed the air out..
Oh, hold the throttle WIDE OPEN..
Mage sure your hearing a CLICK when u turn the key on.. THATS the shut off solenoid kicking to the RUN position..
If that doesn’t work, get back to us & we’ll tell u about a “stuck metering valve”..

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #4 (Edited)
Thanks for the replies. Yes it is a Stanadyne pump. Tractor is up at my mom's so it will be Friday before I can try anything else. I wondered about a fuel solenoid. I'm not hearing any click but I have tested and have power to the unit. I have cranked it with the fittings loose at the injectors. No fuel to any of the three lines.

·
Premium Member
1,396 Posts