Tractor Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Premium Member
4,115 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a designer for a small factory that builds custom machines (one at a time) and we supply spare parts for everything we have ever made since 1938, when the company started. I realize that custom machine building is MUCH different than assembly line production, but our stuff has evolved over the years and we have 9 long established model lines, for which all the drawings exist, all the documentation is still here. The major tractor manufacturers have all of their drawings, casting molds, etc, but some discontinue parts after 10 years or 20 years. So what is reasonable to expect?

·
Registered
499 Posts
IMHO the 'price'lines should keep parts going for ten years. That's a reasonable lifetime for their product.

People who claim to produce 'Quality" products should expect them to last longer and should therefore provide support and parts longer. To me, CAT, DEERE, and SIMPLICITY talk a good game but if they aren't providing parts for 25 years they're a price line, not a quality line.

·
Premium Member
1,394 Posts
Well if its parts for an MTD or Crapsman product I wold say one year is overkill. JD, and Ford and most others usually always have parts for things built eons ago, or some other manufactuer with foresight to know that thjose machines will be around for a long long time, so they picked up on spare parts when the manufactuer left off.

·
Registered
1,569 Posts
I think its got to be related to the expected life of the machine.
We build refrigeration compressors, original design life was
40 years when Westinghouse designed them back in 1965.
We bought the manufacturing rights in 1990. There are still
a tremendous number of the first year production compressors
still in operation and I would expect they will stay in operation
for another 10-15 years. Subsequent revisions always take
interchangeability into account so parts used on 2004 production