Tractor Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Premium Member
4,117 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I posted a similar thread in the big tractor discussion area, but it really hits us little tractor guys too. I work as a designer for a small company that builds custom machines (one at a time per customer spec) and we supply spare parts all the way back to what was sold in 1938 when the company started. And yet Deere has already discontinued some parts for the 316, 318, and more so the old 110, 112, and 140. How long should spares be available? I realize that where I work is much different than a production line factory, but we have 9 long established model lines and many variations of each model. Our spares are made new as the customer orders them. Can't Deere and the others run off small production runs of popular parts, or are we gonna see more "cottage" industries making cat. "0" hitches and weight brackets that Deere doesn't want to manufactur any more. I don't mean to pick on Deere, as I'm sure the Cub, Simplicity, Wheelhorse guys see it too, but that is what I'm familiar with. So would 20 years be reasonable? 30? 40?

·
Registered
1,372 Posts
Originally posted by bontai Joe
I work as a designer for a small company that builds custom machines (one at a time per customer spec) and we supply spare parts all the way back to what was sold in 1938 when the company started.
What type of machines do you make? Sorry if you posted it earlier I just can' t think of it!