Tractor Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Honda RT5000 stops running after about 3 minutes. But, will start right back up and run for another 3. When it starts fluttering the choke can be pulled out that will let it continue running briefly then dies. What is going on with it? Is this a gas problem or electrical?
I have replaced CDI unit, spark plug and Coil.

If anyone has an answer please let me know. I have been fooling with this monster for several months now trying to chase down the problem by replacing everything that seems logical.

Thanks,
Vardyman

·
Premium Member
2,431 Posts
Welcome to the forum vardyman, the first thing you should have done was bought a spark tester so you could check the spark while the engine was running and also watched the spark as the engine died, if the spark was still working as the engine died, then you would have known to check the fuel supply, you could have a floating blockage in the tank, a cracked fuel pickup in the tank, (and allow the pump to suck air) a bad fuel filter or a crook fuel pump, even a leak in the fuel pump pulse line from the engine, even the fuel line could be be going soft and sucking in and restricting fuel flow, (but not likely with the little vacuum fuel pump) or even junk floating around in the carby fuel bowl, and even bad fuel if you use the gas and ethanol mix.

You can check these components before outlaying dollars.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks.
I do have a spark tester and I will try your suggestion.
It has an electric fuel pump, I believe, because l took the sediment bowl off and dumped the gas. Gas did not refill the bowl until I switched on the ignition. Gas line could be a problem I will check. It has a fabric covering the line and hard to see if it is collapsing.

·
Premium Member
2,431 Posts