Tractor Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Last week I blew a hydraulic line for the front end loader on my Ford 540A tractor. The loader is an aftermarket (but can't think of the manufacturer at the moment.) When the line blew I noticed the fluid had a dark tint to it and the hydraulics don't seem to be working quite as well as the did when we first bought it 15 some years ago. I figured this would be a great time to change the fluid as well but I've never done this before on any tractor so any advice or tips would be greatly appreciated. I know I have downloaded the service manual a while back but after searching for a few days now I have no idea where it ended up at and need to get this done, hopefully today, before the weather really turns crappy here in Michigan.

I picked up 15 gallons of hydraulic fluid and the new line last night, will be stopping by Napa this morning to pick up the hydraulic filter. That is mounted under the floorboard and have changed that a few times in the past. I know where the fill ports are on the rear differential, am going to look again but have never been able to find the level plug on the side of the tractor and not sure where or if there are drain plugs on the bottom but going to look for them today.

I read on one of the forums that talks about using a few gallons of diesel to flush the system out a few times and kind of like that idea. Any input on that and/or any other tips or advice would be greatly appreciated!

Thank you everyone.

Specs on this tractor:
http://www.tractordata.com/industrial-tractors/000/1/0/107-ford-540a.html

·
Super Moderator
9,423 Posts
I wonder if you could change your hydraulic oil and push the old fluid through the cylinders by disconnecting the return hose and routing it into a bucket?!? Or maybe just warm up your rig and then change the oil and filters. After the next few services you should be fine.