Tractor Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all, took a flyer and bought a machine w/o seeing it run.
I just bought a Case 420B wheel backhoe/loader, no gas, no battery lots of moss, last run 2019 (maybe).
Now the challenge is to get it home before its buried in snow.
o Could use an operator's manual.
o Any advice on starting or hauling?
Its 2 hours away, in the mountains, I plan to rent a trailer and haul with my F250 6.0L
o Is high octane or Ethanol-free worth using?
o What size battery does this take? Yes, I'll run it until the ground freezes.
o What are best practices for winter storage?
How difficult is it to remove the hoe & loader buckets? Trying to reduce the weight.
I'm not a mechanic but confident I can get it done.
The plan is to get it started, maybe remove the buckets, retrieve batteries to charge.
Then come back with trailer & truck.
The price was right & I have some projects for the backhoe. I'm optimistic!!

·
Registered
553 Posts
Hi all, took a flyer and bought a machine w/o seeing it run.
I just bought a Case 420B wheel backhoe/loader, no gas, no battery lots of moss, last run 2019 (maybe).
Now the challenge is to get it home before its buried in snow.
o Could use an operator's manual.
o Any advice on starting or hauling?
Its 2 hours away, in the mountains, I plan to rent a trailer and haul with my F250 6.0L
o Is high octane or Ethanol-free worth using?
o What size battery does this take? Yes, I'll run it until the ground freezes.
o What are best practices for winter storage?
How difficult is it to remove the hoe & loader buckets? Trying to reduce the weight.
I'm not a mechanic but confident I can get it done.
The plan is to get it started, maybe remove the buckets, retrieve batteries to charge.
Then come back with trailer & truck.
The price was right & I have some projects for the backhoe. I'm optimistic!!