Tractor Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to TractorForum, I just stumbled across the site last week when I was searching for info on the Craftsman GT5000.

I don't need a tractor to mow with (I have another machine for that) but I was looking for something to pull yard and garden implements. After reading through many of the previous posts, I was convinced the GT 5000 was for me.

I bought my GT 5000 on Sunday (Sears had 10% off) and it is supposed to be delivered today. I got the manual transmissions and wanted the 25HP Kohler. The 26 HP Brigs was over a $100 cheaper though, so I went with that one. I believe the Kohler is probably a better motor but I'm sure the Brigs will be good enough for me. After the sale and discount I paid just under $1900. After reading what many of you have been able to do with your GTs, I think I'll be getting allot of tractor for my money.

Thanks everyone for sharing your experience and ideas. I look forward to participating more in the future.

Eric M.

·
Registered
4,173 Posts
welcome to the forum Eric.. theres lots of GT5K owners here...

good to have you along..

PS? what are you mowing with? seems a shame to get a new tractor and not use it for all its purposes..

·
EX Super Mod
5,317 Posts
WELCOME

Welcome Eric:friends: and congrats on your new tractor sounlds like you got a great deal and they have alot of GT5000 owners on here.
Jody

·
Registered
497 Posts
Welcome Eric. I too just purchased a GT5K. I got the Kohler Pro 25 and the manual. I have clocked 4.5 hours using it to cut grass once. It seems to be a well built mower. Time will tell.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
simple_john,