Tractor Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have, as near as I can tell, a early 60's (prior to April 1962 according to the service manual) fordson dexta with a 3 cylinder perkins diesel that I have been rebuilding for several years after I lost a bearing on the crankshaft. I have it all put back together but I am running into some issues getting the timing just right especially with the simms injection pump. I believe the problem is that I have the simms injection pump part number 957E-993101-A with a vacuum governor. I have come to this conclusion because the pictures in the manual match and there is a suction tube coming from the intake manifold to the diaphragm unit on the back of the injection pump. In the manual it states when attaching the gear to the drive gear adapter to use a socket and rotate the adapter until the timing line marked "S" for the vacuum governor pump lines up with the timing mark on the timing gear housing flange, and the adapter for the "minimec" injection pump with a mechanical governor has a timing line marked with a "TC". My adapter plate is marked with a "TC" which tells me that I have the wrong adapter plate for my injection pump? If anyone can offer some information to clarify this for me or knows where I can find the correct adapter or how to get the timing set it would be greatly appreciated!

·
Registered
996 Posts
Hello Fitz's Fordson, welcome to the forum.

Do the marks on your pump look like the marks in the attached picture?

Picture is a screenshot from Manual Part 4:
It covers only the early Simms pump.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·