Tractor Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a newbie to tractors so suggestions are appreciated. I have a ford 850 that will not stay running. New Carburetor and spark plugs. Fuel lines clean and open. Seems to run great for 5-15 minutes then dies. Appears to stop when it gets hot. Looking for suggestions cause researching takes me in all different directions

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
How old is the coil? If a coil gets hot it will shut you down as well.
Welcome to the forum Ron!
Thanks for the reply. I just bought this about a week before this issue started. I didn’t know how old the coil was so I replaced it. Unfortunately it continues to run great idling and can make 1-3 passes in field then begins sputtering and backfires. It then eventually dies but starts back up to repeat the process. Any other suggestions would be appreciated. Thank you

·
Premium Member
2,078 Posts
did you consider replacing the condenser and points, have a look at the point contacts and see if these are pitted, usually you will see a gouged hole in one side and a buildup on the other, a crook condenser will give you trouble like you describe, and another thing to check is the wire tail that comes through the distributor housing and connects to the points, sometimes this can become open with the advance and retard movement of the timing plate in the distributor.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
did you consider replacing the condenser and points, have a look at the point contacts and see if these are pitted, usually you will see a gouged hole in one side and a buildup on the other, a crook condenser will give you trouble like you describe, and another thing to check is the wire tail that comes through the distributor housing and connects to the points, sometimes this can become open with the advance and retard movement of the timing plate in the distributor.