Ford 601 dead

Discussion in 'Ford / New Holland' started by ZombiePopper, Jun 23, 2017.

1. ZombiePopper

ZombiePopper New Member

Jun 23, 2017
    I have a 58 641 workmaster that's been a fairly reliable tractor. I decided to switch it from 6v to 12v and bought a kit that included everything, including a wire harness, since my original harness was tired.
    The swap was fairly straightforward and pretty easy. After the swap the 601 fired up fast and ran like a top. But after running for about 20mins, it died and it won't even crank. It's completely dead and won't do anything.
    I've got spare solenoids, 12v batteries, coils, ignition switch, etc but swapping parts has done nothing. It's still won't crank. I've double and triple checked everything.
    My question is; is there a nss (neutral safety switch) on 601's? Is there a way to bypass the push button to test it? I'm suspecting the push button may be bad?
    Thanks for any advice

2. ZombiePopper

ZombiePopper New Member

Jun 23, 2017
    Can a mod move my post to the Ford section? I just saw the sticky.
    Thanks

Last edited: Jun 25, 2017

3. sixbales

sixbales Well-Known Member

May 17, 2011
    Howdy ZombiePopper, welcome to the tractor forum.

When depressed (with the trans in neutral), the starter button on top of the transmission provides a ground circuit for the solenoid coil. The starter switch has a built-in safety feature.....you can only push it down when the transmission is in neutral. You may have to wiggle the shift lever fore and aft a bit to get everything to line up where the button will push down.

Last edited: Jun 23, 2017
    ZombiePopper likes this.
  4. ZombiePopper

ZombiePopper New Member

Jun 23, 2017
    Thanks for the welcome.
    The starter button will depress, but it won't crank. I've tried moving the shifter around. But still it won't even crank.
    Is there a way to bypass the starter button? I've noticed my starter button sticks, which is why I suspect it may be faulty.