Tractor Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello - I'm new to this forum and have run into an issue. I bought a 1968 Ford 3000 to restore as a project for myself during college. (I've never done this before and am learning as I go) I've been working on it and I am now trying to replace the front transmission oil seal. The tractor is split and I have removed the clutch shaft and release bearing assembly already. I have taken out the 5 bolts that hold the clutch releasing bearing support to the front support plate but I can't seem to get the support to come out to be able to replace the seals behind it. Does anyone have ideas of how to get this out? I might be missing something. The shop manual that I have just says to remove the bolts and take it out, but it doesn't seem to be that easy. At least for me. Any help would be appreciated. Thank You.

·
928 Posts
It's just stuck. Probably hasn't been out of there in years so the gasket behind it is somewhat petrified. Or maybe someone HAS been there and just used a sealant. Either way, just reach in with a hammer and smack it sideways a time or two and see if it breaks loose.

·
Registered
883 Posts
Gentle smacks. The bearing support is stuck in the support plate. That plate is thin and made of cast material, and will not take much violence before cracking or shattering.

Better to find a tool to grab the bearing support close to the support plate and tap the tool in order to rotate the bearing support. That way the bearing support may loosen and can be pulled out.

Another solution is to remove the support plate with the bearing support left in it. Then you can deal with things on the workbench. As you can see in the shop manual, the support plate has dowel pins and has to be pulled straight out. Loosen the bolts (not remove) and pry gently at three o'clock and nine o'clock. Finally it is loosened, you can remove the bolts and pull the whole assembly forward.