Tractor Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Premium Member
3,786 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well, with all of the massive rain, I have a nice oak that topped over (I have a strange patch of trees out in the field that have grown and this patch is just too low and wet at times, I think caused the ground to lose the battle with holding the tree in place by the root systems) --- This tree looks like it could just be staightened up and sit back into place. :D ---- Alas, it is pretty big around (nothing valuable like a 200 year old live oak --- just a scrappy white/water oak) ---- Was wondering what it would cost for a service to come out and chop it up into manageable pieces.
I will not need them to haul it away --- just drop it when they cut.
I can remove the debris after cutting so this should reduce the cost. I have a chainsaw but it needs to go back to the shop again and frankly I am not an expert woodsman cutter with em anyhow. :D (and it is not a Stihl)

In any case, if someone can give me a rough or wild estimate.
Tree is probably about 40-50 feet tall, widest point --- probably couple feet thick at least. Not a small tree --- just not a HUGE tree either. Any ideas or insight?

Jody get your saw. :D

Andy

·
Tractor Lover
4,461 Posts
I can't give you an estimate in that regard, but if you have woodworking enthusiasts or furniture builders, it might be of interest to them. Line up a few and let them bid on it!

·
Registered
8,567 Posts
If the tree is leaning over and on its way down; perhaps you can get a ladder and hook a long cable to the tree and pull it the rest of the way over with your tractor?

·
Registered
849 Posts
Hi
I live in the northern suburbs fo Detrioit. We also have a cabin
170 miles in north Michigan. A job that costs $100 at the cabin
would cost $300 at home. I could not believe the cost difference.

There is a disease affecting the Oak trees at the cabin and we
are losing a lot of trees. It is spreading in the area up north.
Rodster

·