Tractor Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Premium Member
3,693 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well, as some of you know, nothing dulls a chain saw chain like frozen wood. I have two saws, that the chains are getting pretty dull. I have been feild sharping them with a file, but looks like they are due for a REAL sharping. What do you guy that cut wood al the time do? Sould I replace the chain, get the equpment to do it myself, or send them out to be done? Where is a good place to get chain? anything on the web? If I send them out, who does this kind of work? Thanks for any help. My workhorse saw, an old Homelite superXLauto with a 20" bar is the worse. Starting to vear a bit when cuting. Guess I am not that good at sharping them.

·
Registered
8,567 Posts
Paul, I just keep sharpening my saw chain with the file until it is worn down to nothing. In my opinion, having it sharpened at some place like my local hardware store where I purchased the saw with their sharpening machine a $2 a pop is just not worth it. I noticed not difference between the machine sharpened and my file sharpened chain cutting ability. I usually end up sharpening every 2nd - 4th tank of gas when cutting firewood. Much more when hitting !%#!$#^)*(&^@! fence wire embedding in the wood! :argh: :argh: :argh: This year I cut about 15 cords of firewood and I still cannot justify the cost of a sharpener. The guy I cut with has one and he uses it. It does a real nice job sharpening but it is in the shop and not practical in the field. He ends up sharpening with a file more times than not as well. The clamp on type sharpeners are junk in my opinion. I have one and never use it anymore. The professional type sharpeners require removal of the chain. Not very practical either. If you want a periodic machine sharpened chain; most places like Coop or your local chainsaw dealer have a sharpener and will do it for a few bucks. If you are a tool/gadget junkie :

This is the unit my cutting partner has: