Tractor Forum banner

1 - 20 of 51 Posts

·
Registered
4,173 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well i took my car to work tonight and i noticed the oil pressure gauge is down around 20-30 instead of where it usually stays around 40-50.
when i stop at a light, the car feels like its gonna stall out and the pressure gauge drops right down to 0.

It gets close to 0 and i put the car in neutral and rev the motor a bit and it goes back up to about 15-20

Is there an oil pump or something that i need to check?

Im about 25 miles from home and hope it will get me back...

I checked the oil, i was a little low.. i added oil but its still doing this..

is this going to seize my motor? and should i rev the motor in neutral to prevent it from going to 0.

Im no mechanic, but 0 oil pressure does not sound healthy to a car..

not sure if i should try to make it home or call AAA...

any thoughts?

·
Registered
4,173 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
BTW: it did get me to work (25 miles) .. so i am thinking it will get me home.........

·
EX Super Mod
5,317 Posts
Your oil pump maybe going out but its not something you can just check without putting another gage on it. I think you may want to call a wrecker and have it towed to a shop. The oil pan will have to come off to change the oil pump and hopefully you didn't do to much damage to the motor.

·
Registered
8,567 Posts
Sounds to me like something is a foul. Does the engine make any metalic tapping or knocking noises? Or is this a steady but low pressure that significantly lowers at idle? What grade (viscosity oil are you running in it now? If the oil pump is going south on you; you can get by with adding some 20W-50 oil or SAE 40 if you are not already doing this. This trick may work while it is warm but you will have to have the problem fixed. Best to put a known accurate guage on the engine as Jody mentioned.

·
Registered
289 Posts