Tractor Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Me and to lawn tractors. I'm a Marine Surveyor. I do boats, but in the last few years I bought a small lot and need some kind of a lawn tractor. Last riding mower I was associated with was 45 years ago and it was a 3 wheeler with a pedal you had to hold down to keep the rollers against the rear wheels to drive it. In fact the old man took the blades off it and made the drive rollers bigger to make it faster and my two younger brothers and I used to ride it around a track we wore into the ground at bottom of the property in Pa. We were 5-8yrs old and we completely wore out two 3hp briggs engines running the crap out of that thing...

Anyway I don't know crap about lawn tractors. My property is mostly wooded with some grass around the house and strip about about 100ft wide 200ft long down to the work sheds. The rest of the 3 acres are wooded old growth, but loaded with ground cover and brush/weeds. I'd like to clean it up some.

So I started looking at these Lawn Tractors. Deere, Craftman, Husqvarna and MTD's or whatever. First thing out of the John Deere guy is you don't want an "100" series tractor..and was thinking stretching things and going for a L120, but why do I need an auto trans?? Looking to spend 1500-2000 and reading whatever I can on these pages and others I came up with this one. http://www.sears.com/sr/javasr/prod...vertical=LAWN&com.broadvision.session.new=Yes

I want a V twin instead of a single thumper and that one has a heavier mower deck. 10ga vs 12ga. Plus I figure 3 blades will grind things up better.

Is that Craftsman a decent tractor?? or should just bite the bullet and buy the Deere??

·
Premium Member
3,693 Posts
Welcome Dunk!!! First of all there are a LOT of boat people here also, so wile you may be new to tractors, I am sure a lot of us will be picking your brain also,:) :)

Now to tractors......