Tractor Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I had a new septic tank installed last week, and now I have to get the grade back to where it should be. I have about a 40'x50' area that needs to come down anywhere from 2" to 6". I started by using by FEL bucket to backdrag, but I am not happy with the results. I do not have a tooth bar on the bucket yet, and the edge just starts to dig in too deep when I try to scrape going forward.

Yes, I am new at this. I have only had my JD 955 for about 6 weeks. I am learning quickly and have gotten rather proficient with my BH, but now I need to learn how to use the FEL.

Thanks for any help.

·
Premium Member
1,394 Posts
I would use a box blade if I had one available. In my opinion trying to dig dirt etc with a FEL with a plain edge without teeth and even with teeth on them on a CUTS is looking for problems. They are made for scooping up loose materials not digging as such, unless perhaps the soil is soft loamy and sandy, then you may get by with it. Even a full sized backhoe has problems trying to do much more than scoop loose fill etc with the FEL portion.