Tractor Forum banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
171 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Now that I have some experience with my 1st ZTR, I like it for the most part, but some aspects have me searching. Unless I am careful about turning, a ZTR can tear up the turf. So a front mounted mower deck articulating frame lawn mower makes more sense to me. With a ZTR its pretty easy to target the deck since you look down at it for tight spaces. But the deck in front makes more sense for positioning and getting under bushes, plantings, close work. Especially for a home owner/non-commercial application, I wonder why the articulated style mowers are not more popular in the US. Bolen used to make one way back in the 70's. Heston even made one that had a cool setup for a deck or blade, or snowblower and even had a bed in back:

Husqvarna and Stiga both make them, but Husqvarna is about the only brand available in limited areas in the US. Stiga is very uncommon in the US. There is an older Husky 970 for sale locally for $650, but it has no hydrostat drive. Looks like this one:

Many of the larger newer Husky articulating mowers are designed for a mower deck, a snowblower, even a snow blade. And they are rated for towing a small trailer. Most ZTRs are not rated for towing, though I bet many of them are towing loads. Just seems to me that these articulating mowers make more sense for home use than a ZTR. For a commercial lawn care company I can see a ZTR makes more sense. These Huskys even have some neat maintenance features:

·
Registered
1,371 Posts
On the commercial end, the two "front-mount deck" OEMs that come to my mind are Woods and Walker.

Neither are cheap new as they are for professional applications. They're models are built like tanks and usually last 20 years or better.

The best places to look for a good used one is at government auctions (City, County, or State) and golf courses.