Tractor Forum banner
1 - 20 of 56 Posts

·
Registered
4,173 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i want to put a cement stoop on the side entrance...
just a single slab of concrete to wipe my feet on..
I was thinking probably 4 Ft * 3 ft 4 " slab

1. any guesses on how much cement? 300 lbs?

2. is it easy to do?

it looks fairly straight forward.. set up forms ensure they are level and square..
fill with cement...
scrape the top level with a board...

3. what would i need for tools? a trowel?

4. how do i get it to look nice and flat?

5. would i connect it to the existing slab? (i would guess no on this one) id probably just ghet it close up to the doorway..

6. Just basic home depot cement??

anything else i need to think about?

·
Premium Member
112 Posts
Great! Just posted this response earlier and when I submit I get web site not responding.

Quikrete site says for 12 sq. ft. 4" thick you'd need 6 80# bags of mix.
I'm not a concrete expert but I think you'd need a regular flat trowel and an edger trowel. I'd put some rebar or mesh in there too to keep it from breaking up.
I'm thinking about doing a walk from my deck to the drive and it would just be a bunch of pieces about the same size as you're doing. Good Luck, Hutch

·
Tractor Lover
4,461 Posts
You get it level and flat on the forms before you even pour concrete. I'd use an expansion strip between the existing slab and it. Have the bottom sandy and compacted real well. Use your new wheel barrow for mixing.:D

·
Tractor Lover
4,461 Posts
Originally posted by simple_john
what do you mean an expansion strip?
They should sell them near the concrete and tools. It's a 4" x 1/2" strip of asphalt that goes between your existing slab and the new one to allow for concrete movement. The approach your going to put in, because it will be exposed to the elements more than the other, is going to move around on you in the winter...the expansion strip doesn't allow them to damage one another.

·
Registered
4,173 Posts