Tractor Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello. New member here. I bought a 1948 8n last week and have put about 10 hours on it mowing and hogging and it’s run great until today.
I was about 2 hours into mowing and hit a bump and it killed abruptly. I could not get it restarted. Turned over fine but no dice. I did notice the throttle lever, which I had been running at 3/4, was down beyond the full notch. I didn’t give it much thought at the time but maybe the bump caused me to hit the throttle, pull it too far down and snap the cable?
Anyway, I’m new to this and not terribly mechanically inclined so flame away and thanks in advance for any suggestions.

·
Registered
1,451 Posts
If you are going to own a vintage tractor you need to be mechanically inclined. Ford Ns are marvelously simple old tractors and a good place to start learning.
First off, buy a repair manual. The best bang for your buck is the "I&T FO-4 manual". Google it. Lots of online scources for them. Get one and read it - cover to cover like you would a novel to familiarize yourself with all the systems on your tractor. (You will learn there is no throttle cable on your N - just linkage rods)
Next, there are scores - if not hundreds - of videos on youtube on fixing those Ns.
Start learning.
If you will not or can not learn to fix it yourself the tractor will be a miserable and expensive experience for you.
In that case get rid of it now and buy a new tractor that has a warranty.

·
Registered
3,425 Posts
Ditto what Ultradog says, It might be that one of your throttle (or governor) links jumped off the carburetor when you hit the bump. Ball & socket type connection. All you have to do is find out where the rod goes and put it back in place. Start at the hand throttle and follow the linkage.

This happened to me once, but the engine went full throttle. Had to turn the engine off to prevent it from blowing up.

·
Registered
192 Posts
There is no cable.