Tractor Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everybody, newbie here trying to fix an old neglected 484 tractor and I need some help from the experts. I inherited a 1984 International Harvester 484 tractor that is in working condition, but just barely. I am trying to keep it running but I can't figure out how to find parts for it. The tractor has a UK serial number plate (International Harvester Company of Great Britain / London). The model on the plate is 1-484 and the serial is B480207B009071-X. I did some searches at the parts sites but I am confused about the name (i.e. IH, CASE-IH, etc.) They all seem to have 484 tractors, but I can't find any parts that appear to be for THIS 484 from 1984.

The tractor has a number of problems, but two that are most urgent at this point. The first issue is the tractor overheated and it appears that either the water pump is bad, or the seal gasket, or both. I can fill it with anti-freeze, but when sitting with the engine not running, the coolant just drains out of of the pump around the gasket area. It does not seem to leak when it is running. The second problem is that the flexible fuel line that connects to what I think is either a fuel filter (looks like a white oil filter) or a water separator. The fuel line has a flexible part and a rigid metal tube part that appear to be made as one piece. It leaks fuel around the flexible hose part.

So, what I am trying to do is find the water pump gasket, maybe the pump as well (or a rebuild kit), and a new fuel line. I do not have any manuals for this tractor. I was going to purchase a set... but there are so many out there, I want to make sure I order the right ones.

Any advice on how to identify this tractor and the part numbers would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers,
Ken

·
Super Moderator
9,637 Posts
Welcome to the forum. Just saying, the 484 ceased production in '82, the 584 ceased production in '84. It's pretty much CaseIH now.