Tractor Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Evenin' Folks
I'm looking at a "completely restored" 1050 JD model M. I am a novice in recognizing a good vs not so good restoration. But, this puppy looks great. Where can I go to get market value for this tractor? If you care to comment....the asking price is $7000. And includes a nearly new woods belly mount finish mower and a plow. Thanks in advance for advice.

·
Registered
2,687 Posts
pilot
Welcome to TF!
You can edit your post to correct the year by clicking on "edit" in the lower right hand corner, make the corrections and submit.

You can also delete the second thread about the same subject by "edit' then "delete"

·
Premium Member
4,124 Posts
I haven't seen the tractor, but $7000 seems high to me. Unless the seller can show you some rarity about this tractor that makes it very special, I'd look elsewhere. Just because a guy spent $3000 on a super deluxe paint job doesn't make the tractor that much more valuable. An example would be if you put a $3000 high gloss hand rubbed laquer paint job on a Yugo with 100,000 miles on it. It's a nice paint job, but you will never get your money back. I'd be more interested in a tractor in primer grey with all new bearings, a professional motor rebuild, new tires, etc. What i'm saying is the quality of the parts, and repair work are more valuable than paint. Take the same Yugo, and put a new engine and transmission in it, new brakes, wheel bearings, fix the rust and update the interior where needed and it is worth more than the freshly painted worn out one.