Tractor Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I would like to refurbish/redesign/buy or build a robust 1050 42" mower deck. I am a mechanical designer by trade. Can somebody start me off in the right direction?

·
Registered
2,687 Posts
dgh8789
Welcome to TF!
I'm not sure I understand your plan. There are plenty of good used decks on ebay for under $200 sometimes way under. That may be a good place to start.

The apple green decks are from the mid to late 60's and the early ones may or may not have gauge wheels and or a nose roller. There were add-on kits available but I think most don't have it. Beginning around 68 the wheels and roller were standard. From 69 and into the early 70's the decks were red. After this you may find them in black and dark green. As long as they came off a tubeframe they will mount to the 1050, just be sure to get all the mounting hardware with the mower.

Lastly I don't think you would need to re-design anything. If you find a solid (not rusted) deck with a good gear box, you should get many years of service from it. Just be patient and look for a complete solid deck with the gauge wheels and nose roller. These decks were pretty much bullet proof. Look through the bolens pages here and you will see at least 2 threads about these decks and parts diagrams as well.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for the response. I'll start looking in that direction

I've grown up always having a 1050 around. The killer application for me over the years has been snow-throwing, roto tilling, and pulling trailers around the property. As far as I am concerned, there is no finer snow blower available then my 1050 setup.