What is "Case-O-Matic

Discussion in 'Case / Farmall - International Harvester' started by synway, Jun 1, 2008.

1. synway

synway New Member

May 27, 2008
    Wow... I am new to tractor power ownership, and my first tractor this guy got is a 410B case tractor...
    Know I had powerwashed the dirty thing down and installed a loader frame with a blade on the front to move snow in the winter. ( have heart issues and can't bare to watch my wife snow float our drive so she can work on her clients, nuff said)
    Idealy a 4x4 tractor with a loader is in our future ( I'm an opperator more than a mechanic)
    Know I'm running this case and snow plow hopefully successfully for winter 2008/09.
    New to tractors of any year this old girl seems like a real beauty .
    Now I changed the oil and I think I need to remove the oil pan to clean out sludge hopefully before winter.
    The loader frame was originally yellow then painted green and the cylinders are single action and old, I replaced the seales and stoped the leaks from the cylinders.
    I noticed the oil kinda black (Hydralic oil). so I guess I should change the Hydralic oil.
    Is this the oil that is in the case-o matic part of things? Yes I'm that green.:alien:
    Do I change the torque tube oil? is that where the hydralic oil is.
    Is there any links that could help me learn what I have? :truth:

2. synway

synway New Member

May 27, 2008
    would I use a TDH fluid? or a straight hydraulic fluid?

3. caseman-d

caseman-d Lifetime Supporting Member

Nov 28, 2003
    Hydraulics, transmission, and torque convertor shouls have seperate reserviors. You should use type A or Dextron automatic oil in case-matic. You can use TDH if you wish, it should be a good grade of hydraulic oil. If you wish and want to just keep one oil I would go with either Hytran or dextron automatic oil.