Hour meter for '03 Deere L110 - How much time on the tractor is normal?

Discussion in 'General Lawn Garden Tractor Forum' started by Flightsport, Mar 25, 2011.

1. Flightsport

Flightsport Registered User

Mar 13, 2011
    Just about to go take a look at an '03 L110. Wondering what would be an appropriate amount of time on the hour meter for a woman that has used it since buying it new in '03, on about a 1/4 acre of flat terrain. Any ideas? Also, any other suggestions for what to look for would be helpful, as I'm a rookie at this. Thanks! Mike

2. dangeroustoys56

dangeroustoys56 Collector

Jul 26, 2010
    Well, 1/4 acre shouldnt take more then at least a couple hours at a time ( used to take me 5-6 hours to do 2 acres) - so figure how many weeks a year the mower would be used ( figure once a week for 5-6 months- average mowing season) - then by how many years its been around ( 8 years). Probably like a couple hundred hours more or less ( couldve used it to haul a yard trailer around to clean in the fall ).

Just check the condition of the tractor- has it been abused? Oil change and regular maintence?( check the oil- is it reletively clean) Is it with minor ( normal scratches) or all dented and rusty? Pedals all worn , seat ripped- stuff like that. Take it for a spin around the yard and test the mower, shut it off and turn it back on again.

Sorta like buying a used car - haveta do an inspection and test drive and kick the tires.

Ive gotten some truely wrecks of tractors that just needed some cleaning and work done - might not look pretty but run/mow awsome.

3. wjjones

wjjones Moderator

May 27, 2010
    I would say 350 hrs or less, and as dangeroustoys56 mentioned look for leaks, cosmetic damage such as the hood brackets. I mow 3.5 acres with mine about 12 to 14 times a season, and use it to move the trailer around it is 5 years old and only has 254 hrs on the meter.

4. tractor beam

tractor beam ENGLISH SPRINGER SPANIELS Staff Member

Jan 25, 2010