Featured Tractor of December belongs to caseman-d
Tractor Forum > CUT & Big Tractor Manufacturer Forums > Ford / New Holland > wiring a new amp gauge



Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-03-2012, 08:36 PM   #1
dsolsbery
Registered User
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 21
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

wiring a new amp gauge

I need to replace the amp gauge on my 800 ford, but I am Mr. Potato Head when it comes to electrical stuff. I would like to request someone draw me a simple diagram of how the wires are hooked up. I've attached two photos to show how the old one was wired, but it didn't work with the new gauge.



amp-gauge.jpg   alternator.jpg  
__________________
dsolsbery is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-04-2012, 05:29 AM   #2
Big_T
Registered User
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 194
Liked 26 Times on 25 Posts
Likes Given: 13

"L" is Load. "B" is Battery. Hook it up the same as the old ammeter. The "whatzit" connection is probably for instrument lighting when the lights are on.

Your alternator looks to be old. I would take it to an auto parts store and get it checked out.

If you can't get it to work.... Check the wiring. The heavy wire from the starter solenoid (battery terminal) to the ammeter goes to the "B" terminal on the ammeter. The wire from the other side of the ammeter ("L" terminal) should go to the terminal block. From there ALL electrical loads should come out the other side of the terminal block.
The basic principle is that all electrical loads other than the starter are channeled through the ammeter in this way. Then you branch out from the terminal block.

Note that the headlights are not run through the ignition switch - too much current draw - may damage the switch.

Your tractor is a 12V conversion. Should be negative ground. It was originally a 6V positive ground system.



12v-conversion-single-wire.jpg  
File Type: pdf 12V conversion - multi-wire.pdf (142.1 KB, 110 views)
__________________

Last edited by Big_T; 09-04-2012 at 07:52 AM.
Big_T is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-04-2012, 03:28 PM   #3
dsolsbery
Registered User
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 21
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

My terminal block, I guess that's what it is, only has one post on it, with a bunch of wires running to it. Don't really see a need for it.

__________________

Last edited by dsolsbery; 09-05-2012 at 09:35 AM.
dsolsbery is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-06-2012, 10:28 AM   #4
Big_T
Registered User
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 194
Liked 26 Times on 25 Posts
Likes Given: 13

That would likely be equivalent to the left post on the diagram. Powered by the keyswitch.

Check out your wires (where they go). One probably goes to the switch to provide power to a number of functions. Try to make a diagram of what you have.

__________________
Big_T is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ford 3400 wiring issue csd Ford / New Holland 2 12-24-2012 06:45 PM
G152 Glow Plug Wiring question IC2 Bolens 5 09-19-2011 12:32 AM
574D Fuel Guage wiring Gunpowder Case / Farmall - International Harvester 4 09-15-2011 10:48 AM
Oil Gauge on TO-35 Ferguson - Connects Where? mrs_fix_it Massey Harris-Ferguson 3 03-11-2011 04:44 PM
New engine wiring problem..please help jm2591 General Lawn Garden Tractor Forum 3 06-03-2010 05:40 PM