Featured Tractor of August - offdutyangler's Allis Chalmers
Tractor Forum > CUT & Big Tractor Manufacturer Forums > Ford / New Holland > Help Changing Hydraulic fluid

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-06-2010, 02:08 PM   #1
Nlesslove
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 3 Times on 2 Posts

Help Changing Hydraulic fluid

Hello All,

Can anyone guide me through changing my Hydraulic fluid on my 8N Please?
I am a newbie and i am not an auto mechanic. I have already read some threads about how to do it, However i must admit i am still a bit confused. Here is what i know so far.. It is best to change the fluid while it is still warm to flush as much crap out as possible. There are 3 plugs on the bottom of the tractor. This I do see, but one of those plugs is underneath the motor. Would that be engine oil?
I saw someone mention a pipe plug. Can any one help and maybe include some newbie friendly pics
Any and all help is greatly appreciated. I know this one has got to be an easy one for you guys. Sorry to be such a noob.

Thanks in Advance

Last edited by Nlesslove; 04-06-2010 at 04:26 PM.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-06-2010, 10:07 PM   #2
Morgan

Tractors

The three plugs that you need to take out are all under your butt when you are sitting on the seat, there is no plug in front of the transmission that should be taken out. There are two big plugs and one small one. If you lay down on your back and crawl under the tractor from the rear you will see a huge plug there and then another just a ways in front of that and the small plug will come out sideways not just from the bottom. After you get all the plugs out and drain all the fluid (about 5 gallons) you then need to flush it with diesel fuel before putting new fluid back in. I have done mine quite a few times because it kept getting water in it. I finally found the cause for that was the rubber boot around the shifter was cracked and letting water in.