Featured Tractor of December belongs to caseman-d
Tractor Forum > CUT & Big Tractor Manufacturer Forums > Case / Farmall - International Harvester > IH 656 Hydrostat/Hydraulics died

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-26-2011, 10:08 PM   #1
IHHydrostat656
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Tractors

IH 656 Hydrostat/Hydraulics died

I am new to tractors/hydraulics with my recent purchase of a gas IH 656 with hydrostatic drive, and front loader. But, I am somewhat of a backyard mechanic. I am having big troubles with my IH 656 hydraulics/hydrostatic drive which just stopped working. All hydraulics, including the steering and the PTO.

When I purchased the tractor a few months back, it ran and all the hydraulics worked (with some bubbles and a light milky color in the hydro fluid), but it was blowing radiator fluid into the oil. I diagnosed this as a blown head basket, and, over a number of months, finally got it replaced.

As I just got it running again, and was adjusting it, and trying to run it a few minutes to check the true level of the hydraulic fluid, it started making a whining noise and it didn't sound good. That noise continued for a minute or two so I could try to check the fluid level. It appeared to be fine, was a golden color, with no bubbles and wasn't milky. I noticed that the fluid level didn't change from when it was off to after it was run for more than three minutes at higher rpm.