Featured Tractor of August - offdutyangler's Allis Chalmers
Tractor Forum > General Tractor Forums > Repair & Technical Discussion > What's "a lot" of hours on NH 3 cylinder?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-20-2005, 06:50 PM   #1
clattin
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

What's "a lot" of hours on NH 3 cylinder?

I'm new to tractors and am in the process of looking for a good used CUT for general use/landscaping. A local dealer has a NH TC33D with a FEL for sale with 1000 hours on it. He's asking $13,800 for the tractor. That seems like a lot of hours for that price. How many hours is a lot of hours on these 3 cylinder diesel engines? Do they need to be rebuilt after so many hours, etc?

Any and all help is tremendously appreciated!

Chris

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-20-2005, 06:58 PM   #2
mark777

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Clattin,

I'll take a stab at this. 3 cyl diesels usually go 5-6000 hours before significant signs of valve and ring ware. This, of course, will depend on how the tractor was used (or neglected).

Ford/NH is not my area of expertise, but generally any diesel engine with a good maintenance history will last a long time.

About that price...I'm sure someone with more experience in NH will chime in.

Regards, Mark

Old 01-20-2005, 08:20 PM   #3
mark777

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Clattin,

I dug a little further and got some prices for comparison:

1999 TC 33D (4WD) Retailed for $17,700.

Resale values:

Premium 13,990.
Good 13,452.
Fair 12,567.

2000 TC 33D (4WD) Retailed for the same 17,700

Premium 14,910
Good 14,337
Fair 13,452

So it's safe to assume that the tractor your looking at retains a very high residual (resale) value.

Regards and good luck, Mark

Old 01-20-2005, 09:26 PM   #4
Argee
Tractor Lover
TRKTR_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Tractors

Liked 118 Times on 95 Posts
Likes Given: 25