Featured Tractor of October - Centaur 2G Sulky
Tractor Forum > General Tractor Forums > Repair & Technical Discussion > Stereo systems in tractors

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-09-2010, 01:54 PM   #1
LSharman
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Stereo systems in tractors

Hi,
My name is Lewis Sharman and I am a product design student at Sheffield Hallam University.

I have recently been set a brief to design a set of compact speakers.

I thought it may be an interesting idea to design a set of speakers to connect to an iPod/mp3 player or personal radio for use in agricultural vehicles.

If you don't mind it would be great if you guys could help me out with a bit of research, I know a little as I grew up in the Suffolk countryside but thats nothing really!

I understand maybe some older tractors may not have stereos fitted, is this right?

I have also had a look at having a stereo fitted as an additional extra on a new tractor on the John Deere website and on the 9330 Tractor is either $650 or $974! If you were to purchase a new tractor would you pay that much for a fitted stereo or just not bother?

If you like to listen to music while using a tractor without a fitted stereo do you use a personal radio/mp3 player? Or do you have say, an old radio that you take in the cab with you?

Cheers for taking the time to read this, I hope you can help me out!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-09-2010, 07:47 PM   #2
tractor beam
ENGLISH SPRINGER SPANIELS
TRKTR_ADMIN.png

Tractors

Liked 359 Times on 277 Posts
Likes Given: 248

Welcome Lsharmen. I would probably not bother with spending that much on audio in my tractor since I have no cab and prefer to be able to hear the goings on with the machinery I'm using should something break or come loose. But that's just me!

And hides the pines with billboard signs, from sea to oily sea
***** The best customer of American industry is a well paid worker **** Don't believe everything you think.