Tractor of the Month - April- pbrezny

Help us build our Tractor Registry by Adding your Tractor!

Tractor Forum > General Tractor Forums > Repair & Technical Discussion > changing sizes of three point hitch peices?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-29-2009, 08:28 AM   #1
jeffakron
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

changing sizes of three point hitch peices?

Ok - you can see I am not an expert by far. I volunteer at a local farm. They have enjoyed the use of a Ford 800 for a few years, but the owner is coming soon to pick it up.

We have an 8000 series (8454) Cub tractor, but the implements we have do not fit the three point hitch points on the new tractor. Any advice someone can give me? They are not compatible - but I am sure we are not the first to use older implements on a newer tractor.

Thanks, and yes - feel free to make fun of my lack of knowledge if need be. ; )

Jeff in New Paltz NY

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-29-2009, 09:57 PM   #2
MFreund

There are categories of 3 point which are relative to tractor hp. The categories start at 0 and go to 4(that I know of). My tractor is 32 hp and has cat 1 hitch. Less hp is lower cat and more hp is higher cat. The pins are bigger in diameter and distance apart as you go up in categories.

My guess is you are trying to hook a higher category implement to a lower category tractor?? You may be able to change pins or find adapters to go up or down sizes but one size is about all you would want to go. Pictures would help.

Here are a couple of links for hours of reading

http://www.antiquetractors.com/Research/3points.htm

http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&q=3+point+hitch+categories&btnG=Google+Search&aq=f&oq=&aqi=

Old 05-30-2009, 06:44 AM   #3
chrpmaster

Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts

First of all Welcome to the Tractor Forum Jeff!

MFreund gave good info regarding the different 3pt hitches.