Featured Tractor of November - TANK
Tractor Forum > Lawn Garden Tractors > MTD > riding mower won't move

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-06-2011, 11:04 PM   #1
truace
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

riding mower won't move

hi newbie here. not sure if its a MTD but its a ACE 12.5 hp 38" shift to go 6 speed mower. i was mowing grass last weekend when it started to go slower(i had it on first gear cuz the grass were a bit high) so i went on the clear and place it on a higher speed but it did not engaged. so i placed it in neutral let it run for a second then shifted forward...nothing it would not move.reverse.. same thing. so i turned it off then start it,it runs,just don't move. I replaced the drive belt(after inspecting it) cuz it was almost ready to snap. it still runs but it would not move. prior to this happening, i had to forcefully engage the shift lever to either forward,reverse and even neutral. since i had replaced the drive belt and still no movement, could it be my tranny shift lever inside the housing broke? it feels like it engages when i move the lever but it just not moving at all. btw, does the drive belt/pulley supposed to spin when the motor is running in neutral? cuz its not. i can turn the pulley by hand when the motor is off and all my belts are fine. please help

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-07-2011, 01:15 AM   #2
jhngardner367
TRKTR_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Tractors

Liked 362 Times on 301 Posts
Likes Given: 195