Featured Tractor of September - TecumsechBrigg's 96 Ranch King
Tractor Forum > Farming Forum > Home, Yard and Workshop Display > tree removal

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-07-2006, 01:07 PM   #1
chrpmaster
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts

tree removal

I am slowly clearing my back woods of trees that are either dead or just in the wrong place anticipating putting in a pond in the next year of two. I have a Case SC tractor that has been a great workhorse for me but I am a novice when it comes to pulling trees so that I don't have lots of roots/stumps all over. I know its better to leave a tree taller if you want to pull it out but I was looking for pointers on the best method to pull them. I also have a backhoe, which I call my digger, pictured in my avatar that would be useful for digging out bigger ones but I want to minimize the size of the hole I have to fill when I am done. Any suggestions?

Stupidity is exasperating. Willful ignorance is bulletproof.

Having government manage your health care is like having Michael Vick watch your dog.

Democracy is 2 wolves and a lamb voting to see what they will have for lunch. Liberty is a well armed lamb contesting the outcome of the vote.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-07-2006, 01:56 PM   #2
Fordfarm
Supporting Member
TRKTR_SUPPORTER.png

Tractors

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

What kind of trees and how large? Some of the cedar trees you can hook LOW on your 3 point and they will pull out without even cutting. Smaller (2"-3" dia) hardwoods can also be done this way. Larger stumps can be dug so they can be "cantelevered" over and broken off below ground. If they are REALLY huge, I leave the tree standing! Also, around here, the cedar and pine trees that are to big to pull, I just cut the trees as close to the ground as possible and forget the stump - in a year or so, it will rot to the point a swift kick will dislodge it!My JD Brush Hog also does wonders on the stumps!