Featured Tractor of October - Centaur 2G Sulky
Tractor Forum > Lawn Garden Tractors > General Lawn Garden Tractor Forum > How To Wire An Older Lowe's Brand Mower With The 18HP Briggs And Stratton Engine

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-20-2010, 07:50 PM   #1
miataman2001
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

How To Wire An Older Lowe's Brand Mower With The 18HP Briggs And Stratton Engine

Hi. This is my first time posting in this forum. I have an older Lowe's brand mower that I can only start by jumping the starter with my car. LOL

I would like to find someone who can help me diagnose whatever wiring problem is causing this. The engine code is 422707 and the mower is identical to the one at this link: Lowe's Mower.

I need to know how the wiring should run from the switch to the ammeter, circuit breaker, battery, solenoid, etc. The is a manual transmission, too, by the way. Also, how is the battery charged? If anyone needs photos of my tractor, please let me know. Also, if anyone has this tractor (or one with the same wiring setup) that can send me pictures, that would be helpful. I would love to be able to start this thing up with the key again.

Josh

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-21-2010, 10:27 AM   #2
tractor beam
ENGLISH SPRINGER SPANIELS
TRKTR_ADMIN.png

Tractors

Liked 359 Times on 277 Posts
Likes Given: 249

What happened to the old wiring?

And hides the pines with billboard signs, from sea to oily sea
***** The best customer of American industry is a well paid worker **** Don't believe everything you think.

Old 06-21-2010, 09:37 PM   #3
miataman2001

wring

It is still there, but ends were rusted. For instance, both leads on the circuit breaker were rusted. The ammeter wasn't wired. The small red lead to the positive battery terminal was rusted off. I just want to be able to follow the wiring from "point A to point B" to make sure it is wired correctly, so I can make the thing start with the key again.

Old 06-21-2010, 11:06 PM   #4