Featured Tractor of September - TecumsechBrigg's 96 Ranch King
Tractor Forum > Lawn Garden Tractors > General Lawn Garden Tractor Forum > bobcat 310

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-13-2012, 06:44 PM   #1
speedbuff
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Tractors

bobcat 310

Hi I am a newbie to this site and hopefully you will allow my to post my bobcat question here .My bobcat is powered by a kohler k341 engine ,It has a rather odd 2 speed belt clutch that is electrically actuated .I understand that these 2 speed clutches were used on some wheelhorse tractors as well? I am hoping to find out if anyone is familiar with these units .Are the 341 kohlers worth rebuilding ? I was planning on having it bored over and not sure what to do with the bottom end there are some kits that include a piston rings connecting rod and all seals gaskets for 130 dollars .Does this sound like a decent approach ? How much compression pressure should I see on a compression test ? The engine runs ok but seems a little tired any ideas? thanks john

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-13-2012, 07:26 PM   #2
jhngardner367
TRKTR_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Tractors

Liked 329 Times on 276 Posts
Likes Given: 155

kohler

The Kohler K341 engine is a good unit,and well worth rebuildig. It normally should pull 60-80 psi,and sometimes higher,depending on the age.A Kohler dealer could tell you exact psi. These engines are strong,reliable,and still quite popular. The price you gave for the kit isn't too bad,if it has the gaskets,ringset,and any o-rings. I'm not familiar,though with the type of 2-speed drive you mentioned. Can you post some pictures,perhaps? If the engine seems "tired",but doesn't smoke/leak oil,it may only need a good tune-up.Check the points for burning/gap (.014 is a good start),and chech the coil for a hot spark.Since it's a battery/coil ignition,like a car,weak voltage into the coil will cause poor running.

" I'm busier than a one-legged cat in a sandbox!"