Featured Tractor of October - Centaur 2G Sulky
Tractor Forum > Farming Forum > Crops & Garden > Growing Alfalfa Questions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-21-2006, 08:26 AM   #1
olds
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Growing Alfalfa Questions

Anyone got a great tutorial on planting, growing and harvesting alfalfa? How much can I bail on about 6 open acres. (not much I assume) Can I do all of this with a Ford 4000 4-cylinder diesel?
How much can you make with this? I assume square baling...just feel that 6-10 acres may be too small.....

comments?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-21-2006, 08:44 AM   #2
Archdean

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

It's been a long time since I graduated but it's still a good school for agriculture and it might help you get started, to be profitable you need more acreage imo!

http://alfalfa.okstate.edu/

Dean

"Flashlights are tubular metal containers kept in a flight bag for the purpose of storing dead batteries."

Show Tractor 1940 Farmall B,
Kubota RTV900 WS, Kubota B7510 HST, LA302 FEL, B4672 BackHoe, LandPride RTA1050 Tiller, Kubota TG1860 W/54"deck....

Do your duty in all things. You cannot do more, you should never wish to do less. - General Robert E. Lee

Old 03-21-2006, 09:34 AM   #3
Fordfarm
Supporting Member
TRKTR_SUPPORTER.png

Tractors

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

Your Ford 4000 will work fine for 6 acres. Find a smaller square baler a 7' sickle mower and a side delivery rake and you will be in bidness! Be sure to get rid of as much of the previous crop/grass as you can. You don't really need to fertilize (at least here), but plant a nurse crop (like turnips, rutabagas, radishes)- just mix the seeds in with the alfalfa and go!

Fordfarm
http://scroungeman.blogspot.com/

"Progress stops when you can no longer improve your property, for fear of the tax burden it would bring..."

Old 03-21-2006, 11:14 PM   #4
John-in-Ga
john-in-ga
TRKTR_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Quote: